media partner
football magazine


EFAF is followed by IFAF Europe

EFL Logo
(c) EFAF

European Football League EFL

The Final: Eurobowl

The European Football League EFL is the top tournament of european club teams on highest American Football level in Europe. The EFL Tournament is an annual invitational tournament for American Football teams representing EFAF member federations, which have obtained the title of Champion or Vice-champion either in EFAF member federations national, championships and/or recognised International competitions.The Eurobowl is the final game to determine the winner of the tournament.

Swarco vs Porvoo Einlauf Schellhorn
(c) EFAF
Swarco vs Porvoo Einlauf Schellhorn
Since 1986, when Taft Vantaa beats the Bologna Doves in Eurobowl I, many good teams have played in the Eurobowl, but only the Best could win it in the end.

During the Nineties German clubs dominated the Eurobowl competition after two victories in row of the London Olympians in 1993 and 1994. Düsseldorf Panther in 1995, three times Hamburg Blue Devils 1996 till 1998 and Braunschweig in 1999 did win the Eurobowl trophy in front of more than 20.000 visitors in Stuttgart 2005 and Hamburg.

From 2000 till 2002 the Bergamo Lions (Italy) have won the Eurobowl. The EUROBOWL XV in 2001, played in Vienna in front of more than 6.000 paying visitors, has been hosted by the Vienna Vikings. It has been the first American Football game showed live in the Austrian Television. EUROBOWL XVI one year later was played in Braunschweig/Germany hosted by the Braunschweig Lions, visited by about 9.000 spectators and televised by DSF and Sat1.

Vikings vs Raiders - Great Rivalry even in the old days
(c) EFAF
Vikings vs Raiders - Great Rivalry even in the old days
In 2003 the Vienna Vikings ended the victory series of the Bergamo Lions with an victory in the semifinal. In the Eurobowl the Vikings faced the Braunschweig Lions. The german club did win and became Eurobowl Champion the second time after 1999.

2004, 2005, 2006 and 2007 were the years of the austrian Vikings club. Four times in a row the Vienna team took the trophy home, televised by austrian TV ORF and ORF Sport Plus(former TW1). The Raiffeisen Vikings Vienna repeated the Three peat of Bergamo Lions and Hamburg Blue Devils and topped it in 2007 by the victory in the Eurobowl final against the Marburg Mercenaries from Germany.

In 2008 the Swarco Tyrolean Raiders first time won the european crown by a victory about the record champion Raiffeisen Viking Vienna.

The Raiders could not repeat the victory of the Eurobowl in 2009 by a final win about the french record champion Flash La Courneuve in front of a record crowd for American Football in Innsbruck New Tivoli of about 6.500.

Flash starts with win in Eurobowl 2007
(c) Flash de la Courneve
Flash starts with win in Eurobowl 2007
(c)Flash de la Courneve
Regulations of that competition can be found on the download section on this website. Some basic informations:

Every team has to publish its 60-man roster at least till 31st March of the tournament year. After that no player can be added. Every gameday the teams have to nominated an EFAF game day roster, which is limited to 45 players with a maximum of 3 Americans as defined USA, Canadian, Mexican or Japanese passport holders. These three players may all be on the field at the same time.



European Federation of American Football